Shopping at New Fiesta

We went stock-up-to-make-Christmas-treats shopping today. Caroline caught this picture with her iPhone. Ellie Jo was waiting on top of the ice cream cooler for me to pick up meat for dinner. In the background you can see wheels of cheese, boxes of Rwanda tea and tin trays of Sambaza (tiny dried fish).

We bought an abundance of butter, sugar and vodka. The vodka is to top up our bottle of homemade vanilla. It floors me how quickly we go through vanilla in this house! I guess that is what happens when the vanilla beans are fresh from Zanzibar.

I’m trying to keep Christmas treats available in the house for the whole month. Tell me how ambitious I am. Right now there are Russian tea cakes in a tupperware. Tonight I think we’ll make snickerdoodles since those are Jacob’s holiday cookie. I bought biscuits to use for a “graham cracker” crust on pumpkin cheesecake. But that adventure has to wait until I made cream cheese from this week’s milk.

Off to bake!

5 Responses to “Shopping at New Fiesta”

  1. The hand-written price list for ice cream completes the quaint feel to the picture. Bright green walls, a Tazmanian devil, Pledge stacked next door to some Quaker goods, and Ellie Jo BEAMING in some college tee… it reminds me of our favorite beach grocery. Randomness with charm: love it!
    You ARE ambitious! Making cream cheese? It didn’t even occur to me that you could do that! (Oh, us lazy Americans!) What is Ellie Jo’s favorite cookie? πŸ™‚

    • I’m not even sure if SHE knows here favorite cookie. She’ll eat just about anything sweet – no-bakes a big hit in her book, but the nuts in the Russian tea cakes are a big turn-off. This will be her first cookie-filled holiday season so I might have a better answer at the end of the month. πŸ™‚

  2. Ellie Jo is getting so big!

  3. Christmas treats all month! Wow, you are ambitious, it sounds like fun though. I’m sure it’s especially nice if you have a house full of people who will eat the treats. My problem is that Tom will have one, maybe two cookies, and then I’ll eat the rest. πŸ™‚ Not a good strategy for trying to lose baby weight.

Leave a Reply

