Routines

By Robin

April 20, 2011

Category: By Amy

4 Comments »

Daddy disrupts routines.

His presence around the house for spring break caused such odd happenings as: no morning nap, a wide-awake baby at 6 o’clock in the morning, a wide-awake baby at 9 o’clock at night and random bursts of giggling. For two weeks there seemed to be practically no routines in our life. We all just woke up together and went to bed together and hung out in between.

But, as I was taking this picture last night, I realized that we really do have a routine-oriented life. We are oriented to the sun. Just after I snapped this frame, the sun dipped low enough that Robin and Ellie Jo were no longer quite so backlit. That light change triggered my, “Ok, it’s just about dinner time” internal alarm. Sunset means that it is somewhere between 6:15-6:45 (depending on the season).

Sunrise happens around 6. We’ve noticed that a cloudy morning puts us all out of whack because we’re so used to the bright sunlight filling our room. Everybody tends to sleep later on a cloudy, rainy morning.

So, while we might not have much routine throughout the day, I feel like our days are regulated by nice sunrise/sunset bookends.

4 Responses to “Routines”

  1. What a great shot! And what a great little family 🙂

  2. Cutest daddy-daughter picture I’ve seen. Look at the delight on her face! I agree that dads disrupt routines… it’s pretty fantastic. One more wonderful reason God made fathers! (By the way, those leg warmers kill me every time. They are the ridiculously darling).

  3. I was just thinking today how nice it was (for all of the 11 weeks I was there :P) to have consistent sunrises and sunsets. It made knowing when to get up and when to go to bed so much easier to figure out!

  4. What a precious picture Amy. I can’t wait to have pictures like this of my own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

