Improvements

“I think maybe it will be a very good road.” – Theo

Yesterday morning the window panes kept vibrating in their metal louvered frames. I couldn’t figure out why until I went out in the afternoon. Ah, a road grater.

They are “improving” the main road above our house. It’ll take a few weeks to finish the dirt work and then… I’m trying not to get my hopes up about actual pavement, but it’s a real possibility. Just the leveling and scraping is a huge relief to our outings. Pavement would change my life.

However…

I can’t stop thinking about these negatives that will come with a paved road:
-The bicycle taxis will no longer be able to transport people because it is illegal on paved roads. Right now they continue to pedal people down the road, dodging the heavy equipment and straining through the soft dirt. How will they support themselves?
-Rent in this district is bound to increase. Landlords are already beginning to talk of extra hundreds every month. Will we have to move further down into the valley, dropping dollars with every yard of dirt between us and the pavement?

I can’t decide how I feel about my comfort directly affecting the jobs in this area. Progress always seems to have a price.

Leave a Reply

