Helping in the Kitchen

By Robin

November 2, 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: By Amy

1 Comment »

I moved Ellie Jo’s walker into the kitchen yesterday and we had a great time working on dinner during all of her happy moments. It was a “clean out the fridge” dinner so there were a lot of little bits and pieces to fix.

I started with about 3/4 a head of chopped cabbage. Then I made a pot of beans and added them. Then I realized that I had several liters of milk that needed to be used up so I made cheese and added that. I cooked up some Kenyan bacon (not the prized American stuff) and crumbled it into the rest. After adding a bit of oil, red wine vinegar, minced garlic, salt, pepper and cumin I had a salad marinating in the fridge.

For sides dishes I cut up a pineapple and made this terrific bread. I just got the recipe for this bread from a friend a month ago, but it is so easy that we make it all the time. It’s handy to have the dough in the fridge and just pop some in the oven if we need bread with dinner. So, I’ll pass the recipe along…

RUSTIC BREAD
3 c. lukewarm water
1 1/2 T. yeast
1 1/2 T. salt
6 1/2 c. flour

Mix ingredients and keep damp by running spoon or hands under water during mixing.
Refrigerate mixture in a covered container. Keep the lid cracked to allow dough to breathe.
About 40 minutes before baking, tear off the amount of dough to be baked (the recipe should make about 4 1 lb. loaves) and form into a round on a cornmeal or flour covered baking pan. Let sit out to rise.
Slash top of dough 2 or 3 times with a serrated knife just before baking.
Bake at 450 degrees for 20-30 minutes.
Unused dough can stay in the fridge for several days.

One Response to “Helping in the Kitchen”

  1. This recipe sounds great and super easy. I may just give it a try.

Leave a Reply

