Tulips

Last night we attended a birthday celebration for the Dutch queen at the Dutch ambassador’s residence. I’ve never seen so many tasteful orange ties or orange accented eveningwear in my life! At the end of the evening tulips were given out to the guests.

Oh, tulips…

Tulips are so un-African. The very shape of the flower is firm and crisp. It hints at colder weather and organized gardens. When I see these two buds next to the tropical local flowers I immediately think of air conditioning, well paved roads, Mt. Rainier and browsing nurseries with my dad. Also split-rail fences, although I’m not really sure how that association works.

These two tulips on the kitchen table are a reminder of a different world. Sometimes it’s nice to remember that I like things in so many different worlds.

2 Responses to “Tulips”

  1. I just want you to know that at the end of reading this post, I sighed and said “Mmm…I like this post.” Reminds me of the African things I have here that remind of that world.

    Love you.

  2. Love this photo! (Tulips are my favorite flower.) And, I love the way you expressed your thoughts about them. Looking forward to seeing you and Robin this summer (I hope!)

Leave a Reply

