Not-so-secret

Yesterday at recess I was approached by one of the first-grade girls.

“Mrs. Crocker, when I grow up I’m going to get married. But I’m not going to have any babies. I don’t want to have babies.”

“Ok, that’s fine Nika. Lots of people choose to not have kids.”

There was a long pause as she looked significantly at my stomach. I could tell that my response wasn’t adequate and that she was trying to get at something. Finally it came out:

“I know that you’ve got a baby in there.”

Ummmm, yes, yes I do. And I guess you think I’m trying to keep it a secret.

We spent the rest of recess discussing babies. We spent all of recess today discussing babies.

I think it’s time for me to pay a visit to the elementary classes and satisfy all their curiosity about just what is going on with Mrs. Crocker.

***Update***

Apparently she went home last night and found out exactly how babies are born. Today we spent recess discussing why I should be scared out of my mind to give birth. Fun times.

2 Responses to “Not-so-secret”

  1. Amy and Robin,

    You blog is such a pick-me-up. Many days it has pulled me out of a fog when I’m feeling discouraged about the state of the world (in particular, the world of some people I love who make bad decisions).

    I’m so happy the two of you have found happiness and so excited to see the little one growing!

    Love to you both!

    • Charlotte – Thanks so much for the encouragement 🙂 Writing blog entries is usually a nice pick-me-up at the end of my day. I enjoy the exercise of matching stories with photographs. Sometimes the picture comes first and I write about whatever comes to mind. It’s very enjoyable. I don’t want to put too much “baby stuff” on the blog but yesterday I just couldn’t resist 🙂

Leave a Reply

