Back in the Day

A student walked into class working on a Rubik’s Cube.

“Oh Mrs. Crocker, I bet that you spent lots of time working on these when you were a kid.”

The funny thing is that I didn’t. I never owned a Rubik’s Cube. I thought they’d been around forever by the time I saw one. In reality the cubes had probably been around for about 10 years. In toy-years that’s enough time to become a grandparent. Except I don’t really know how a toy would become a grandparent…

It is times like that when I feel like a really really young teacher.

They balance out the times when I feel “old” because I’ve had a Facebook account since college.

Leave a Reply

