Radio Show

I requested that they play “Jesus Walks.”
I was told that it was a Muslim station and they couldn’t.

I wanted to tell a long story.
But I had to cut it short because we had to broadcast the call to prayer at 7:15.

I wanted a successful 15 minutes of fame.
I got…a successful 15 minutes of fame.

Our friends Cady and Shannon (or Shady and Cannon, if you prefer) have a weekly radio program on the local Voice of Africa station and, in a moment of insanity, thought they’d ask me and another ISK teacher to go on the show last night. They chatted us up with questions about life in Rwanda, cultural misadventures and favorite moments. We replied with witty stories and perfectly synchronized responses (and no cell phone noise). I’m sure they’ll invite us back.

And I’ll bring my own copy of Jesus Walks.

Leave a Reply

