Time in a Bottle

By Robin

October 2, 2009

Tags: ,

Category: By Amy

2 Comments »

My physics students had to participate in elementary recess today and attempt to make distance/time and velocity/time graphs based on the movements of the children. They organized a big game of Red Rover to make it easier. Now, it’s lunch time and the elementary kids are playing Red Rover on their own. It’s turning into a big line of boys vs. girls. Lots of yelling and cheering wafting up through the secondary classrooms.

A couple of my favorite quotes from the last week:

“My pencil is a bit wibbly.” -7th grader

“It looks like a dolphin that has been turned to stone!” [looking at a photograph of Half Dome in Yosemite] -9th grader

“Ah miss, you have nice toes and all, but I’ve heard that going without shoes on these floors will make you sick. I don’t know what kind of sick, but it’s not good.” 10th grader

**Update** It’s the end of the day and I have one last gem to share:

“Um, my speech will be about my very favorite childhood experience which was when I was eight years old and got a monkey for my birthday.” -8th grader

Dead serious.

2 Responses to “Time in a Bottle”

  1. Bet I can guess the 10th grader…

Leave a Reply

