A moment

I walked across the basketball court a few days ago during an off period and found this piece of wildlife (it’s much prettier than the last thing I saw out there – a bat). Robin had the seventh grade class outside working on skits for Bible class and when they saw me crouched on the ground a bunch of them ran over to see what I’d found. Before I knew it, we were having the happiest “unschool” moment I could have wished for. We examined the butterfly and found the proboscis and talked about how it eats. We talked about how a butterfly grows and tried to figure out how long they live. A few rain drops started to fall so we held papers above her (him?ย  we also talked about how butterflies always seem like girls) for protection.This all lead to a conversation about other animals with short lifespans, types of small animals we have caught and kept as pets and animals in general.

The kids definitely spent some time laughing at telling me that I was their “nerd teacher” because I was so excited to point out the details on the butterfly, but I loved it. It’s not like butterflies are my favorite animal or something…it was just a chance to enjoy a natural teaching moment. Robin even joined our conversation as other students finished their skits and added to the group. It was fun to sit around with him and the kids. How I wish teaching was always like that.

4 Responses to “A moment”

  1. I had a dream last night that a woman from church had a proboscis like a butterfly.

  2. I want you for my teacher………Speaking of pets with short life spans, I ran across Alfred while moving boxes in the garage: short life, long possession.

  3. Aw, Alfred. He’s been rescued more times than I can count. Such a good pet ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Lol! this reminds me of the trope days ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

