Down this road

Once a week (or sometimes twice) five liters of milk travel down this road to our house. Fresh milk. It sounds idyllic and natural and healthy and wonderful. And, honestly, I’m pretty happy with the set up.

However, I have never had to work with fresh milk before. I know to boil it, but suggestions have varied in this department: bring it to a rolling boil and cook for twenty minutes, cook on high for ten minutes and then simmer for twenty, boil it for a while. From personal experience I know that bringing it to anything close to a rolling boil produces milk with a very gamey flavor. But is it safe if I keep it on lower temperatures?

Plus there is the container issue. I wish, I wish, I wish that I had brought more glass and plastic containers to Rwanda. “Tupperware” here means plastic boxes with ill-fitting lids. Glass containers are about $12 for a 1.5 liter bottle. So we’re storing our boiled milk in one glass container, some plastic water bottles and a Nalgene bottle. Oh and the skimmed cream is in an old glass jelly jar.

Then there is our fridge issue. Our refrigerator is somewhat small. Not exactly the size of a dorm fridge, but maybe just one size up from that. There is a freezer compartment at the top, but we can’t keep that very cold or it freezes the tops of all the food on the top shelf. Currently, five liters of milk take up about 1/3 of our fridge space. Not much room left for leftovers.

So, all of this to say, does anybody have some milk ideas? I know you can’t solve my fridge dilemma or container crises. That information was just there to add color to the milk story. But I would love to hear ideas that people have for how to deal with the fresh milk. Thank you!

4 Responses to “Down this road”

  1. I wonder if you can get anything like NuMel there? NuMel is powdered milk we got in South Africa (out of choice mind, not necessity – the major cities all have access to pasteurised milk). It was very tasty and almost natural tasting.

  2. We do have Nido. It’s decent powdered milk. We use it in our tea when we’re out of fresh milk. We can also get boxed milk, but I find that to only be suitable for cereal and cooking. So we do have options, but I *really* want to make the fresh milk work out

  3. One of the best solutions is to buy a pregnant cat and let her kittens drink your excess milk. Actually, I think that is your only option. I hope that helps.

  4. I’m sure you do! It reminds me of when we lived in Nigeria – we had to have our water brought in!!

Leave a Reply

