“Joyeux Anniversaire!”

So, my birthday is tomorrow. I told my 8th grade students this at the beginning of the week, and jokingly said that they should bring me a cake on Friday, the last school day before the actual event. I did not think they would even think twice about it, but apparently all week they planned it and by 11:30 today, I had a home-made chocolate fudge cake waiting for me in my classroom, made by one of my eighth grade male students. He paid for the ingredients with his own money and everything. Can you believe that? That was surprise #1. Surprise #2 was when Amy’s 7th grade drama class came pouring in right after the 11:30 bell rang. So for the beginning class I listened to almost 30 7th and 8th graders sing to me Happy Birthday in English and in French (the title of this entry.) I think the English version even had my first name in it instead of Mr Crocker.

Now, surprise #3 – another cake! One of my sixth graders, from the class I did not say anything about bringing a cake to, decided all on her own that she should bake a cake a bring it to me! So the picture you see is of me with the 6th grade speech class, the cake prominently displayed. If you’re wondering, the cake may look like German Chocolate, but it is actually a regular chocolate cake with creamed corn for icing. Regular creamed corn from a can, with no sugar added.  Sixth graders are very creative, yes?

Two cakes, one day, and it’s not even my birthday yet! There was also a rumor of homemade snickerdoodle cookies but unfortunately a rumor is all it turned out to be. I suspect that by Sunday, after my actual birthday with my “official” birthday cake, I will have become a full-blown diabetic. My students love me

One Response to ““Joyeux Anniversaire!””

  1. It looks like you had a very happy “Pre” birthday! I wish I could be there to celebrate it with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

